Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

Distinguished Achievement (University)

Since 1955, The Association of Former Students has recognized outstanding members of Texas A&M’s faculty and staff for their commitment, performance and positive impact on Aggie students, Texas citizens and the world around them.

Each recipient receives an award plaque, an engraved watch, and a cash gift, all furnished by The Association of Former Students.

Distinguished Achievement Award University Level Criteria & Nomination Information

The 2017 recipients, along with their departments/affiliations are:

For Teaching:

James Batteas,  Department of Chemistry

Ben F. Biegelow '05, Department of Construction Science 

Christian Brannstrom, Department of Geography 

Audrey K. Cook, Department of Small Animal Clinical Sciences 

Alan R. Dabney, Department of Statistics 

Amy E. Earhart '99, Department of English

Larry Johnson, Department of Veterinary Integrative Biosciences 

Mary P. McDougall '97, Department of Biomedical Engineering 

Mary Margaret PenroseSchool of Law

Connie D. Weaver, Department of Accounting


For Research:

Wendy R. Boswell, Department of Management

Timothy R. Elliott, Department of Educational Psychology 

Paul E. Harding, Department of Biology 

Casey J. Papovich, Department of Physics & Astronomy 

Ping Yang, Department of Atmospheric Science 

Hong-Cai Joe Zhou '00, Department of Chemistry


For Staff:

Veronica Stilley '90, Department of Information and Operations Management 

Kevin D. Gustavus '08,  College of Architecture Business Office 


For Individual Student Relations:

Elizabeth Crouch '91, Department of Biomedical Sciences

Henry K. Musoma '00, Center for International Business Studies 


For Administration:

Mark A. Hussey '79, Vice Chancellor's Office 


For Extension, Outreach, Continuing Education and Professional Development:

John T. Cooper Jr. '92Department of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning 

For Graduate Mentoring:

Robert S. ChapkinDepartment of Nutrition and Food Science 

Yalachin Efendiev, Department of Mathematics 


Read more about this year's recipients on the Dean of Faculties Website


505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2018 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved