Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

Board of Directors

President: Linda Hoppas ‘79

Linda earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education from Texas A&M University and a Master's degree in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies from the University of Texas at Arlington. Her area of specialization is Earth Science and she holds a principal certification. Linda has taught at the elementary level in Spring ISD for 38 years and she is currently a Math Coach at Anderson Elementary in Spring. Prior to teaching in Spring, Linda taught fourth grade in Fort Bend ISD and sixth, seventh, and eighth grade science in Kaufman ISD. During her career in education, Linda has been a team leader, a science curriculum writer, a supervisor of student teachers, a Campus Improvement Plan member, a new teacher mentor, a cheerleader sponsor, and a workshop presenter at the Conference for the Advancement of Science Teaching. She has also presented numerous science workshops in Spring ISD and she has served as Muster co-chair for the Spring Area Aggies for the past three years. Linda served as the first Secretary of the Aggie Educator Network and is a charter member.  In her spare time, she enjoys camping, white water rafting, and hiking in the mountains.


Past President:  Jeffery Smith ‘83

Jeffery Smith graduated from Texas A&M with a Bachelor’s degree in Biology in 1983 and a Master’s degree in EdCI-Science Education in 1989.  Jeff has been involved in education in many forms, working with the U.S. Navy, the Virginia Institute for Marine Sciences, NOAA, the Smithsonian Institute, and Texas A&M, where he taught elementary and secondary science methods, supervised student teachers, worked with student athletes, and directed summer programs at Texas A&M Galveston.  Jeff currently teaches Biology and Aquatic Science for Spring Branch ISD.  He was named the Outstanding Marine Educator by the National Marine Educators Association; is listed in Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers; and is a 2013 recipient of the Dean’s Roundtable Award at Texas A&M.  An Aggie throughout, you can typically find Jeff promoting the Spirit of Aggieland to potential students. 

President-Elect: Clark Nelson '09

Clark graduated from Texas A&M with Bachelor of Arts degrees in History and English. He received his alternative teaching certification through the College of Education and Human Development and is currently enrolled in the M.Ed. in Public School Administration program. Clark is presently employed as an Advanced Placement Social Studies Instructor with Waco ISD at University High School. Along with his teaching duties, Clark also serves as an Academic Coach and UIL Campus Coordinator, Baylor University PDS Clinical Instructor, AVID Site Team Member, UTD Center for Brain Health SMART Ed Instructor, and Senior Class Sponsor. Prior to teaching, Clark worked as a management professional in the hospitality industry. Clark has been married to his lovely wife, Marchelle, for 23 years and they have two sons.

Treasurer:  Katie Loftus ‘96

Katie Loftus ’96 graduated from Texas A&M with a bachelor’s degree in history.  She also holds a master’s degree from the Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development at SMU. Currently in her 20th year as an English teacher at Allen High School, she also works as a co-advisor for the Screamin’ Eagles spirit group. Katie is an active member of Alpha Delta Kappa, an international honorary organization of women educators, and the District II President-Elect. She has worked with the Collin County A&M Club and has served as scholarship chair and Muster chair.  Katie has previously served as an At-Large Member of the Board of Directors.


Secretary:  Katy Battersby '11 

Katy  graduated from Texas A&M University in 2011 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in History . After student teaching in the STEM program in Northeast ISD in San Antonio, she  taught 8th grade U.S. History in Corpus Christi, Texas at Tuloso-Midway ISD. She is currently an 8th grade U.S. History teacher and UIL Academics Coach at Nimitz Middle School in Northeast ISD in San Antonio. Katy has previously served as an At-Large Member of the Board of Directors. 


At-Large: Kristiana Hamilton ‘04

Kristiana Hamilton, Member-at- Large, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1986 from Prairie View A&M University and a Masters of Education Administration in 2004 from Texas A&M University.  Her commitment to education extends over 26 years and ranges in the fields of teaching, counseling, and administration.  She currently serves as the proud principal of Southwood Valley Elementary School located in the College Station ISD, and is a very active leader, volunteer, and participant in many Brazos Valley community organizations, as well as several state and national educational organizations.  Mrs. Hamilton is happily married to Bryan native Cedrick Hamilton, and they share three wonderful adult children.  Kristiana served as a charter member and the first president of this great 13th constituent of the Association of Former Students Aggie Educators Network. 


At-Large: Kim Richards '01

Kim Richards graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Animal Science in 2001 and holds a Master’s degree in Agricultural Education both from Texas A&M College Station. Kim taught environmental education in Bolivia for 4 years as well as English as a foreign language in Mexico and a private university in Bolivia for 2 years. She has taught bilingual education for over 5 years in the Houston area. Currently she works in Klein ISD while volunteering as a pet therapy team; she and her golden retriever Toby help children read in schools and libraries. She has been married to her husband Ulises for 11 years, and they have 2 future Aggies.


505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2021 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved