Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

Gathright Scholar

The Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Award is presented by The Association of Former Students in conjunction with Texas A&M's Student Government Association. The award was established in April 1973 and is given annually to the outstanding sophomore, junior, and senior of each academic college. Named in honor of the first president of the A&M College of Texas, this award recognizes outstanding scholastic achievement on a university-wide scale.

The Gathright Scholar Award is given yearly at individual ceremonies organized by the Colleges and carries a great deal of prestige. The selection criteria calls for nomination of outstanding students by the dean of their respective college.

Criteria and Selection Procedure

Criteria for a prospective nominee shall be that he or she has the highest overall grade point ratio within his or her college classification. It is recommended that if a tie exists between two or more candidates when their grade point ratios are equal to the third decimal place, then the total number of credit hours earned at Texas A&M and extracurricular activities should be taken into consideration, in that order. Mid-semester grades should not be used in computing the overall grade point ratio. To qualify for this award, the senior and junior must have at least sixty (60) credit hours at Texas A&M, and the sophomore must have at least thirty (30) credit hours at Texas A&M.

If you have questions about the Gathright Scholar Award, or would like to learn more about the program, please contact the Campus Programs office at The Association - (979) 845-7514.

Previous Gathright Scholar Award Recipients



505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2019 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved