



AGGIE NOTEBOOK

The Association Honors Outstanding Students

The Association of Former Students annually honors outstanding students from Texas A&M University through the Gathright Scholar Award and Buck Weirus Spirit Awards. Established in April 1973, the Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Academic Excellence Award is presented by The Association of Former Students in conjunction with Texas A&M's Student Government Association. Named in honor of Texas A&M's first president, the award recognizes sophomores, juniors and seniors with the best academic records in each of the Texas A&M colleges. It is the most prestigious award granted for academic performance. The Buck Weirus Spirit Award annually honors up to 55 students who enthusiastically demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie Spirit through participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and University events. The award is named for the late Richard "Buck" Weirus '42, who served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980.



The 2010 Buck Weirus Award Recipients: Front row, left to right: Dr. William B. Stackman, Vice President for Student Affairs Lt. Gen. Joe Weber '72, Carly Hilley '11, Josephine Sorgwe '10, Casey Schaefer '10, Christopher Tucker '11, The Association of Former Students Chair of the Board S. Shariq Yosufzai '74, and Association President and CEO Porter S. Garner III '79; second row: Trent Segers '13, David Keim '11, Michelle Wong '10, Marissa Sibal '10, Kim Dale '10, Larry Hopper, Jr. '08, Tembri McGaughey '10, Cristine Mayer '10, Michael Robertson '11, Sarah Russell '10, Kelsey Krenz '11, Alli Beach '10; third row: Andrew Roblyer '11, Kolin Loveless '09, Sebastian Olave '10, Matthew Heintschel '10, Josh Garcia '13, Leann Smith '11, Willy Becerra '12, Mark Gold '09, Kimberly Hill '11, Jacob Robinson '11, Hayden Paul '12, Jerry Spencer, Jr. '11, fourth row: Priscila Cacola '11, Aaron Forbis-Stokes '09, Kyle Holland '09, Daniel Springer '09, Weston Wilcox '10, Jerrod Johnson '10, Clay Huber '10, Jeffrey Gregory '12, Michael Cox '12, Brent Lanier '10, Edward Tarlton '12, and Ryan Davenport '12. Not pictured are Brandi Reese '11, Rodrigo Garza Urquiza '09, Jasmine Lemmons '11, Arielle Carchidi '12, and the 2010 Buck Weirus recipient from TAMU-Qatar, Misam Jaffer '10.

The 2010 Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Academic Excellence Award Recipients: Front row, left to right: Porter S. Garner III '79, President and CEO of The Association of Former Students, Marianne Elizabeth Adler '12. Maxwell Curtis Lukenbach '11. Aleiandra Perez '12, Brittany Marie DeHaan '11, Elisabeth Mae Sulaica '12, Brianna Nicole Blackwell '12, Jessica Ann Joseph '10, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies Pam Matthews, and S. Shariq Yosufzai '74. Chair of the Board of The Association of Former Students; second row: Morgan Alyssa Havard '11, Morgan Lindsey Knocke '10. Sara Anne Cerny '11. Ana Carolyn Sedwick '12. Mary Francis Kunst '10, Elizabeth Anne Solch '11, Rachel Elaine Zimmerer '11, Mikaila Danielle Morrison '10; third row: Erin Nicole Evetts '12, Isaac William Velando '10, Jeffrey Scott Nolan '11, Samuel Kent Hatfield '12, Travis Martin Garrett '11, Randall Wayne Holdgraf '10, Derek James Allums '12, and Brad James Reinhart '10. Not pictured are Katherine Elizabeth Ogden '11, Elizabeth Ray Tschirhart '10, Michael Scott Sollee '10, Fatimah Al-Ismail '12, and A&M-Qatar recipients Jadaan S. AlShamari '10, Karim R. Ibrik '12 and Nabil R. Ibrik '13.



36 TEXAS AGGIE | JULY-AUGUST 2010 AGGIENETWORK.COM