Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services


2024 Distinguished Alumni announced

Jason Whisenant March 5, 2024 11:26 AM updated: June 27, 2024 8:48 AM

The Distinguished Alumnus Award, the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University, has been awarded since 1962 to only 342 of Texas A&M’s more than 588,000 former students.

Presented jointly by the university and The Association of Former Students, this award recognizes Aggies who have achieved excellence in their chosen professions and made meaningful contributions to Texas A&M University and their local communities. 

The following have been announced as 2024 Distinguished Alumni of Texas A&M:

  • Hon. Richard A. Smith '59 – College Station, Texas
  • James A. "Jim" Creel '69 – Fort Worth, Texas
  • Kent Moore '72 – College Station, Texas
  • Dr. John A. Adams, Jr. '73 – Wellborn, Texas
  • Chet Edwards '74 – Waco, Texas
  • Thomas Britton Harris IV '80 – Houston, Texas
  • Phil Miner '80 – New Braunfels, Texas
  • Bradley R. Freels '81 – Houston, Texas
  • Jeffery D. Hildebrand '81 – Houston, Texas
  • David D. Dunlap '83 – The Woodlands, Texas
  • Wayne Roberts '85 – Bryan, Texas
  • Dr. Greg Bonnen '88 – Friendswood, Texas

Online nominations for Distinguished Alumnus awards are currently open at Nominations will remain under consideration for a maximum of five years. The nomination deadline for awards that will be given in 2025 or later is Aug. 30 at 5 p.m.

To see and read about all past honorees, please visit our Tribute Wall.


The Association of Former Students is the oldest organization serving Texas A&M University in support of the ever-growing Aggie Network. We are HERE for Aggies during their days as students and former students, THERE for Aggies as they make their way around the world and EVERYWHERE the Aggie Network needs us to be. To help us help more Aggies, visit

comments powered by Disqus

505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2024 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved