Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

2021 Buck Weirus Spirit Award Winners Named

Caitlin "Cait" Shields '11 April 12, 2021 11:38 AM updated: April 15, 2021 1:40 PM

Meet the 2021 recipients of the Buck Weirus Spirit Awards.

Since 1982, the Buck Weirus Spirit Awards from The Association of Former Students have celebrated outstanding Aggie Spirit shown by students. These Aggies are highly involved, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community and make a true impact on student life at Texas A&M.

“Student involvement is a mainstay of the Aggie Spirit, and those recognized with the Buck Weirus Spirit Award have excelled in involvement, leadership and in perpetuating the Aggie Spirit, said Kathryn Greenwade ’88, Association vice president for communications and human resources. “We are proud to recognize these Aggies who ensure the continuation of our traditions and core values through their leadership.”

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award honors 55 students each year who demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie Spirit. Unlike other awards, the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes those students who make contributions to the university through participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award, named for Richard "Buck" Weirus ’42, recognizes students for their outstanding contributions to student life programs at Texas A&M University. Weirus served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980. Because of his unique leadership, vision, and support of student involvement, this award was established by The Association's Board of Directors in 1982 in his honor.

Each recipient is presented an Aggie Spirit watch, which is often recognized long after students leave campus, and a framed certificate. Congratulations to these outstanding Aggies!

The 2021 recipients are:

Iman Ahmed ’22
Alyssa Akomer ’23
Ellie Bacon ’21
Aysan Bahari Moradala ’22
Shikhar Baheti ’22
Michael Bailey ’22
Elizabeth Barnes ’21
Gabrielle Beauregard ’22
Evan Berger ’21
Rachel Bernardo ’21
Corniyah Bradley ’21
Alexandra Campbell ’21
Tanner Cedrone ’21
Lauren Chapman ’22
Sofia` Chunga Pizarro ’22
Evan Dion ’22
Mary Ennis ’21
Cullen Eppright ’22
Joshua Feldman ’21
John Fisher ’21
Sara Franklin ’21
Priyanga Ganesan ’22
Meghan Hein ’23
Wesley Ide ’22
Cade Ingram ’21
Laura Jordan ’23
Brandon Le ’23
Emily Leeke ’23
Peyton Liebler ’22
Cameron Marbach ’21
Alexander Medina ’22
Daniela Medina ’22
Kimberly Morrison ’21
Sakina Mohammed Mota ’22
Eric Muñoz ’21
Kim-Quyen Nguyen ’23
Van-Khoa “Matthew” Nguyen ’23
Calley Nixon ’21
Natalie Parks ’22
Lillian Pieper ’21
Colton Ray ’22
Guillermo Salinas ’22
Dylan Sione ’23
Jensen Smith ’23
Brooke Spann ’22
Mark Sterling ’21
Taylor Sutton ’21
Brandon Tomlin ’22
Jack Tucker ’21
Sarah Turner ’21
Connor Walker ’22
Lawren Walker ’22
Laura Westerlage ’21
Asha Winfield ’21
Noah Woinicki ’21

Learn more about the award, including past winners, and how The Association supports it here.

Serving the student body is a key part of The Association of Former Students’ mission. Make a gift today.

comments powered by Disqus

505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2022 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved