Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services


2020 Buck Weirus Spirit Award Winners Named

Caitlin "Cait" Shields '11 April 15, 2020 2:04 PM updated: June 17, 2021 11:48 AM

Since 1982, the Buck Weirus Spirit Awards from The Association of Former Students have celebrated outstanding Aggie Spirit shown by students. These Aggies are highly involved, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community and make a true impact on student life at Texas A&M.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award honors 58 students each year who demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie Spirit. Unlike other awards, the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes those students who make contributions to the university through participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award, named for Richard "Buck" Weirus '42, recognizes students for their outstanding contributions to student life programs at Texas A&M University. Weirus served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980. Because of his unique leadership, vision, and support of student involvement, this award was established by The Association's Board of Directors in 1982 in his honor.

Each recipient is presented an Aggie Spirit watch, which is often recognized long after students leave campus.

"The Buck Weirus Spirit Award watch and the recognition of serving the student body and Texas A&M is highly coveted and competitive," said Marty Holmes '87, Association vice president for programs. "The watch is only obtainable by the recipients of this award but the impact they have had on Texas A&M and the student body is appreciated by all."

The 2020 recipients are: 

Isabelle Agurcia '20
Syeda Manahil Akhter '20
Ritika Bhattacharjee '22
Emma Bianchi '20
Sreyashree Bose '20
Claire Brown '22
Ashlyn Chauhan '22
Keller Cox '21
Kyle Cox '18
Abhi Dhillon '20
Alexandra Easley '17
Anna Fedewa '22
Weston Fisher '20
Laney Froebel '20
Ahmed Gad '20
Luis Garcia Saldana '20
Jace Garrett '20
Ethan Gleberman '20
Stephanie Gonzalez '20
Ferryn Gradney '21
Andrew Hebert '21
Jabreon Jackson '21
Jeevika Jarmarwala '20
Breidon Johnson '21
Ryan Johnson '20
Mason Kleinecke '21
Oriana Koot '21
Ammani Kyanam '16
Essynce Lewis '21
Karsten Lowe '20
Steven Mancillas '21
Kaley Markos '19
Jocelyn Marrufo '21
Mary McQuade '22
Julia Meyer '20
Allison Migura '20
Nolan Moore '22
Aariana Myles '21
Shannon Norris '20
Erica Pauls '21
Junhong Peng '21
John Petroff '20
Madison Pratt '20
Farah Ramadan '21
Adrian Reed '21
Rinith Reghunath '21
Trey Richardson '21
Edward Rodriguez '20
Nicholas Rossi '20
Kristen Sarna '20
Zachary Skrehot '21
Micah Tardy '20
Michael Teve '22
Luke Thomas '20
Vita Tijerina '20
Abraham Van Helmond '20
Megha Viswanath '22
Aleah Wyatt '20


Learn more about the award, including past winners, and how The Association supports it here


The Association of Former Students has a bold vision to engage 100,000 donors annually for Texas A&M by the end of 2020. To learn more, visit To help us help more Aggies, make a gift at

comments powered by Disqus

505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2024 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved