Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

A&M Staffers Recognized For Meritorious Service

Scot Walker '90 February 6, 2017 9:35 AM updated: February 13, 2017 3:50 PM

Twenty-seven individuals and two teams have been named recipients of the 2016-17 President’s Meritorious Service Awards.

These awards, presented by Texas A&M President Michael K. Young and supported by donors to The Association of Former Students, recognize and reward Texas A&M staff members and employees of SSC/Chartwells for their meritorious service to the university. The awards are presented in three categories: individuals, team, and supervisors.

“To each of them, I extend my most sincere congratulations and deep appreciation for their tremendous efforts that make Texas A&M such a great place to live and work,” Young said.

All University employees and Chartwells/SSC employees are invited to the award ceremony honoring these outstanding staff members. The ceremony will be held on Feb. 27 at 3:30 pm. in MSC Bethancourt Ballroom. A reception with refreshments will be held following the ceremony and will serve as the official kickoff of Staff Appreciation Week at Texas A&M.

The President’s Meritorious Service Awards program is sponsored by the Office of the President and The Association of Former Students and coordinated by the Division of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness. Visit for additional information.


Each individual recipient will receive a $1,000 cash award, a commemorative plaque, and a lapel pin. 

  • Deborah Barnett, School of Law.
  • Leona Bay, SSC Service Solutions.
  • Sandra Chavarria, Office of the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Studies.
  • Amanda Flores '08, Memorial Student Center.
  • Tracy Foster '96, Office of Budget and Planning.
  • Dustin Grabsch '10, Residence Life.
  • Ada Green, Division of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness.
  • James Izat '81, Division of Research.
  • Ruth Manning, Sponsored Research Services.
  • Donna Pantel, University Writing Center.
  • Pascale Parker, Study Abroad Programs Office.
  • Neil Peltier '97, University Center & Special Events.
  • David Reed, Department of Biology.
  • Ra’sheedah Richardson '00, Center for Teaching Excellence.
  • Lisa Rosser, Division of Finance and Administration.
  • Suzanne Rosser, Department of Geology and Geophysics.
  • Timothy St. Martin '07, Department of Physics & Astronomy.
  • Jeannine Scambray, Department of Psychology.
  • Colby Seay '15, Study Abroad and Academic Services, Texas A&M University at Qatar.
  • Stuart Slattery '11, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital, Information Technology.
  • Kathleen Speed '04, Academic Success Center.
  • Sara Thigpin '08, Dean’s Office, College of Science.
  • Tammy Whisenant '09, Department of English.
  • Angela Winkler '95, Offices of the Dean of Student Life.
  • Janeen Wood '90, Department of International Affairs, Bush School.


Each recipient of the Supervisor Award will receive a $1,500 cash award, a commemorative plaque, and a lapel pin.

  • Michael Krenz, Residence Life.
  • Michelle Steedly, Division of Human Resources and Organizational Effectiveness.


Teams will be recognized with a plaque for departmental display. Members of each of the teams will receive a cash award of $200, a framed certificate of recognition and a lapel pin.

  • Employment Services Team, Career Center: Shirley Alvarado, Ashley Bryant, Martha Fields, Kevin McGinnis '88, Brenda Riley, Megan Stoltzfus, Sue Wolfert, Susan Wyatt.
  • Extended Education, Bush School: Rebecca Burgner, Lynn Cagle, Linda Heritage, Jennifer Lampo, Ruth McMullan '83, Courtney Shuttlesworth '16, Ashlee Treadway.



comments powered by Disqus

505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2018 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved