Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

Nominate a Young Alumnus for the 2019 Spotlight
Deadline to Nominate: March 2, 2018

Each year, The Association of Former Students’ 12 Under 12 Young Alumni Spotlight recognizes 12 Aggies who have graduated within the past 12 years for their outstanding accomplishments in business, civic service and philanthropy, and for representing Texas A&M’s core values of excellence, integrity, leadership, loyalty, respect, and selfless service.

The 12 Under 12 Young Alumni Spotlight was conceived by the Young Alumni Advisory Council, a body of young former students who advise The Association’s staff on matters related to young alumni programming and communications.

These Aggies were selected for the 2018 Young Alumni Spotlight. We congratulate these young men and women on their accomplishments, and thank them for their outstanding representation of Texas A&M University and the Aggie Spirit.

Honorees will be announced Oct. 17-19.


Marcella Burke '04
Marcella Burke '04 has accepted an appointment as Deputy General Counsel at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. She was named the 2017 Outstanding Young Lawyer by the Houston Young Lawyers Association in recognition of both her professional accomplishments and for her pro-bono work representing military families in need of health care for children with special needs. Burke started a quarterly women’s breakfast for professional leaders in Houston, is heavily involved in volunteering on various committees with her church, and regularly speaks to high school students about civic engagement.
James C. Jones '05
James C. Jones '05 is senior vice president at Jones & Carter, Inc. He was named Young Engineer of the Year in 2016 by the Greater Houston Chapter of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers. Jones is a past president of the Young Professional Association of the Petroleum Club of Houston and volunteers with the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo. Jones serves on the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering Advisory Council and is a guest speaker for the Civil Engineering Department.
Kevin Lanan '04
Kevin Lanan '04 is an area manager at BP in Denver, Colo. He received the international Tallow Chandlers award in 2010 for designing equipment that was used to stop the Macondo oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico. Lanan has published domestic and international papers on his patented engineering designs. Lanan served as a co-chair on the steering committee in 2017 for the Colorado Oil and Gas Association’s Energy Summit and on the professional advisory board for the Fort Lewis College Department of Engineering and Physics.
Leo Lopez III '11
Leo Lopez III '11, M.D. is a physician, scientist, and journalist, specializing in health disparities in vulnerable communities. He was named 2017 National Hispanic Resident Physician of the Year by the National Hispanic Medical Association. As CEO of El Renovatio Films L.L.C., Lopez produced documentaries on healthcare policy and human rights in the Middle East, Japan, and the United States. Lopez presented his research in global health ethics at the World Congress of Clinical Safety in Rome, Italy, and delivered talks at TEDxSan Antonio and TEDxTAMU.

Please use the links below to access profiles of previous honorees:

2017 12 Under 12 Young Alumni Spotlight Recipients
2016 12 Under 12 Young Alumni Spotlight Recipients
2015 12 Under 12 Young Alumni Spotlight Recipients

2014 12 Under 12 Young Alumni Spotlight Recipients


505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2017 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved