Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

Mendoza Elected As Chair Of A&M System Board of Regents

Scot Walker '90 May 18, 2019 12:47 PM updated: May 18, 2019 1:04 PM

The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents on Friday, May 17, elected Elaine Mendoza ’87 to serve as board chairman and chose Tim Leach ’82 as vice chairman. The board also welcomed three new regents.

Mendoza is the second woman and the first Hispanic to serve as chairman of the Board of Regents for the Texas A&M System.

“Elaine Mendoza is a distinguished alumna of Texas A&M whose professional achievements in science and healthcare, as well as her service to her community, truly embody what it means to be an Aggie,” said Governor Greg Abbott.

Mendoza is founder, president, and CEO of Conceptual MindWorks, a biotechnology and medical informatics company in San Antonio. She was first appointed to the Board of Regents by Governor Rick Perry ’72 in 2011 and reappointed by Abbott in 2017. She received a Bachelor of Science degree in aerospace engineering from Texas A&M University.

Mendoza, whose term as a regent expires 2023, was elected to a two-year term as chairman, replacing former Chairman Charles W. Schwartz.

“Serving the Texas A&M System as a regent is an honor and a great responsibility," Mendoza said. "I know our board will continue the legacy of always putting the interest of our students, faculty and the state of Texas first.”

Leach, of Midland, holds a Bachelor of Science in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M University and a Master of Business Administration from The University of Texas of the Permian Basin. He has been chairman and CEO of Concho Resources since it was formed in 2004. He was appointed as a regents by Abbott in 2017.

The board also welcomed three new regents to take the places of Schwartz, Tony Buzbee ’90 and Morris Foster ’65.

Appointed by Governor Abbott and confirmed by the Texas Senate, the new regents are Jay Graham ’92, Mike Hernandez ’83 and Michael J. Plank ’83. Their terms are set to expire on Feb. 1, 2025.

Graham, of Houston, is chairman and CEO of Spur Energy Partners.

Hernandez, of Fort Worth, is owner and CEO of D&M Leasing, and owner and dealer principal of Four Stars Ford, Four Stars Chevrolet Buick, Four Stars Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram, and Four Stars Toyota.

Plank, of Houston, is chairman and CEO of The Plank Companies and three affiliated companies: National Property Holdings, Rail Logix and Speed Shore Corp.

comments powered by Disqus

505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2020 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved