Account Benefits

"Find an Aggie" Online Directory

HireAggies Career Services Email Addresses

Answering The Call: Meet The Association's 2018 Board Of Directors

Scot Walker '90 February 12, 2018 8:50 AM updated: February 12, 2018 2:55 PM

Jimmy Williams '83, the 2018 Chair of The Association of Former Students Board of Directors, was a pioneer almost 40 years ago when he arrived at Texas A&M—he was the first person in his family to attend a four-year university. As Williams leads The Association in 2018, he is again a pioneer—the first African-American Aggie to serve as Chair of The Association of Former Students’ Board. 

It is a designation he accepts with both pride and conviction.

“I have been the first African-American at many levels of my career,” Williams said. “With each of those opportunities comes a responsibility for execution and to blaze the trail for others.”

He hopes that his service on the Board and selection as Chair will serve as inspiration to other Aggies of color that they, too, can be involved with Texas A&M in key leadership roles.

Read more about Williams and the other board members in this story from the January-February issue of Texas Aggie magazine (pdf).

At its meeting in November 2017, The Association of Former Students’ Leadership Council elected Williams as Chair and Mark Fischer '72 as Chair Elect. The Leadership Council also elected three new Directors to join the 13 other Directors who continue to serve. Association President and Chief Executive Officer Porter S. Garner III ’79 serves as a nonvoting member.

The new Board took office on Jan. 1.

A description of the Board’s responsibilities can be found at; biographies of current and past Association Board members are online at and are also linked below

The Association's 2018 Board of Directors

Chair of the Board
Jimmy Williams ’83, Ph.D., Wexford, PA

Chair Elect
Mark Fischer '72, Edmond, OK

Immediate Past Chair

Phil Miner '80, New Braunfels

President and CEO
Porter S. Garner III '79, College Station


Mark W. Albers '79, The Woodlands
Pat C. Beaird '83, Dallas
Ray Hannigan '61, Bryan
George N. Harris, Jr. '85, Alexandria, VA
Dara L. Hegar '95, Katy
Kristi Sherrill Hoyl ’86, Dallas
Bobby Jenkins '81, Austin
Robert Jordan '85, Flower Mound
Steve LaMantia '81, Laredo
Cathy Mann ’92, Kingwood
General T. Michael “Buzz” Moseley ’71 (USAF, Ret), Sumter, SC
Hon. Ingrid M. Warren '93, Dallas
Robert H. White '81, Boerne 

comments powered by Disqus

505 George Bush Drive
College Station, TX 77840

Phone Number

(979) 845-7514

© 2019 The Association of Former Students of Texas A&M University, All Rights Reserved