A&M Notebook

A&M Notebook is your source for news and information on Texas A&M. If you have a story to share from the A&M campus, email us at TexasAggie@AggieNetwork.com.

The Association Honors Outstanding Students

The Association of Former Students once again honored outstanding students from Texas A&M this year through the Gathright Scholar Awards and Buck Weirus Spirit Awards. The awards were presented at the Parents' Weekend All-University Awards Ceremony on April 9.

Established in April 1973, the Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Academic Excellence Award is presented by The Association of Former Students in conjunction with Texas A&M's Student Government Association. Named in honor of Texas A&M's first president, the award recognizes sophomores, juniors and seniors with the best academic records in each of the Texas A&M colleges. It is the most prestigious award granted for academic performance.

The Buck Weirus Spirit Award honors students who are enthusiastically involved and who demonstrate high involvement, create positive experiences throughout the Aggie community, impact student life at Texas A&M and enhance the Aggie Spirit. Unlike other awards, the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes those students who make contributions to the university through participation in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events. The award is named for the late Richard "Buck" Weirus '42, who served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980.



2006 Gathright Award recipients. First row (left to right): Dean of Undergraduate Programs and Associate Provost for Academic Services Dr. Mark H. Weichold '78, Texas A&M University President Dr. Robert M. Gates, Steven Houston '06, Anne Willis '07, Lindsay Brooks '08, Mary Keilers '06, Catherine Cupples '08, Meghan Glenz '08, Bhavini Patel '08, Emilee Frame '06, 2006 Association President Van H. Taylor '71 Association Executive Director Porter S. Garner III '79. Second row (left to right): Bryan Carroll '08, Melissa Halbur '06, Frederick Éppright III '08, Bryce Buschman '08, Brock Birkenfeld '08, Jaclyn Upshaw '08, Kelly McDonald '06, Amanda Timmermann '08, Erin Wiegand '07. Third row (left to right): Ross Shockley '07, Christopher McKinney '06, Kevin Člaunch '07, Michael Murphey '06, Tyler Leavengood ⁷07, Farrah Stricker '06, Pamela Hahn '07, Laura Castles '06. Not pictured: Clinton Broyles '07 and Zorawar Wadiasingh '06



2006 Buck Weirus Spirit Award recipients. First row (left to right): Vice President of Student Affairs Dr. Dean L. Bresciani, 2006 Association President Van H. Taylor '71, Rachel Toppert '08, Allison Morton '06, Amanda Lanning '07, Caitlin Melia '05, Abby Belitzer '06, Alycyn Keeling "07, Rosy Saenz-Padilla '07, Carol Noble '06, Srikanth Sastry '08, Jacquelyn Chinn '09, LeMoine Knox '06, Payal Patel '06, Antoinette Rodriguez '06, Texas A&M University President Dr. Robert M. Gates, Association Executive Director Porter S. Garner III '79. Second row (left to right): Kristina Campbell '08, Logan Wright '06, Daniel Nevares '07, Heidi Parsons '06, Chris Fenwick '06, Adam Hines '06, Chloe Crocker 09, Laura Wood '08, Andy Cronin '09, Katie Knippel '06, Elizabeth Tosh '06, Terry Dike '08. Third row (left to right): Nic Taunton '07, Jessica Morris '06, Denise Lancaster '06, Kyle Sanchez '07, Frank Barat '08, Drew Jones' '05, Blaire Bowling '08, Jared Janacek '06, Rich Pontious '07, Brittany Hardin '09, Kayla Glover '06, Cory Peterson '06, Dustin Clark '06. Fourth row (left to right): Tice Parker '07, Parker Dalton '06, R.T. Dukes '06, David Clayton '07, Kyle Mitchan '06, Matthew Vasquez '06, Mahesh Padanad '07, Aaron Rainer '06, Blake Mayerhoff '07, Andy Mach '06, Tyler Wellborn '07, Ryan Bishop '05. Not pictured: Anna Dean '09, Scott Johnson '06, Carly Kouba '08.

Bruce and Patsy Nichols of Austin Named Parents of the Yea

Bruce and Patsy Nichols of Austin and Fredericksburg are Texas A&M University's 2006-2007 "Parents of the Year." The couple received the honor April 9 during the All-University Awards program at the closing of the Parent's Weekend activities on campus. The Nichols were nominated for the honor by their son and daughter-in-law, Travis and Katy Nichols, both members of Texas A&M's Class of 2003. Travis said his parents gave "undying support" to him during his undergraduate years at Texas A&M and while he was in the Corps of Cadets. Now, as Travis attends veterinary medical school, they continue to be involved and offer their support to the "Aggie Family."



From left: Dr. Robert M. Gates: Dr. Dean L. Bresciani, vice president for student affairs: Patsy and Bruce Nichols