A&M NOTEBOOK

THE ASSOCIATION HONORS OUTSTANDING STUDENTS

A select group of students is recognized each year by The Association of Former Students for academic achievement with the Gathright Scholar Award and for improving the campus environment for themselves and others with the Buck Weirus Spirit Award. The awards were presented at the Parents' Weekend All-University Awards Ceremony on April 18.

Established in April 1973, the Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Academic Excellence Award is presented by The Association of Former Students in conjunction with Texas A&M's Student Government Association. Named in honor of Texas A&M's first president, the award recognizes sophomores, juniors and seniors with the best aca-

demic records in each of Texas A&M colleges. It is the most prestigious award for academic performance.

The Buck Weirus Spirit award honors 52 students who are involved and enthusiastic and who help to enhance the Aggie Spirit. Unlike other awards, the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes students who make contributions to campus life by participating in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events. The award is named for the late Richard "Buck" Weirus '42, who served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980 and personally awarded each award until his death in 1997.



Buck Weirus Award recipients include, from left to right, first row: Dr. Robert M. Gates, Paul Kolker, Vicki Dobiyanski, Amanda McCurrin, Christina Bethancourt, Diana Dao, Natasha Eubanks, Alicia Demeke, Julie Sullivan, Ronetha Williams, Linda Salzar, Stephanie Goodman, Melissa Baumann, Dr. Bill Kibler '91, Chuck Ellison '76; second row: Porter S. Garner III '79, Patrick Paschall, Raegan Birdwell, Wil Srubar III, Malory Mako, Troy Sonnenberg, Lauren O'Brien, April Justice, Jennifer Lau, Lindsay Slaydon, Trisha Derr, Risa Holland, J.D. Hall, Cyn Heredia; third row: Brad Gaultney, Aaron Kinsey, Justin Bryan, Jim Carlson, Kyle Stewart, Michael Vargo, Matt Ockwood, Chris Mahaffey, Marcus Hutka, Bert Froeba, Tiana Sanford, Ryan Knape; fourth row: Will McAdams, Tom Ben Williams, Justin Woods, Jon Kleckley, Tim Soeken, Felix Arnold, Zach Fogle, Matt Bertram, Min Park, Ben Carter (Not Pictured: Tawania Evans, Zach Crannell, Unmil Karadkar and Jose Mahomar.)



Gathright Award recipients include, from left to right, first row: Dr. Robert M. Gates, Shanti Claycamp, Jacquelyn Grizzaffi, Andrea Smith, Mary Keilers, Kathryn Edwards, Sarah Willis, Robert Riley, Dr. Mark Weichold '78; second row: Porter S. Garner III '79, Cassie Dieterich, Michelle Kish, Kristi Krenek, Chad Hopson, Alicia Niedzwecki, Travis Cotton, Scott Myser, Chuck Ellison '76; third row: Blake Birkenfeld, Jagadeesh Dyaberi, Stefani Kokel, Christopher Moore, Richard Beckendorff, Aaron Kinsey (Not Pictured: Garrett Montgomery, Andrew Moon, Kelly Stump, Cassidy Miller, Jennifer Munchrath, Maya Weilundemo and Zachary Campbell.)