The Association Honors Outstanding Students

A select group of students are recognized each year by The Association of Former Students for academic achievement with the Gathright Scholar Award and for improving the campus environment for themselves and others with the Buck Weirus Spirit Award. The awards were presented at the Parents' Weekend All-University Awards Ceremony on April 13.

The Thomas S. Gathright Scholar Academic Excellence Award is presented by The Association of Former Students in conjunction with Texas A&M's Student Government Association. Established in April 1973, the Gathright Academic Award, named for Texas A&M's first president, honors sophomores, juniors, and seniors with the best academic records in each of Texas A&M's colleges. It is the most prestigious award for academic performance.

The Buck Weirus Spirit award honors 52 students who are involved, enthusiastic, and help to enhance the Aggie Spirit. Unlike other awards, the Buck Weirus Spirit Award recognizes those students who make contributions to campus life by participating in student organizations, Aggie traditions and university events. The award is named for the late Richard "Buck" Weirus '42, who served as executive director of The Association of Former Students from 1964 to 1980 and personally awarded each award until his death in 1997.



Honorary Buck Weirus recipient, Dr. J. Malon Southerland (3rd from left) is recognized for his achievements as Vice President for Student Affairs by (I-r) Porter Garner, Dr. David Prior and Bobby Joe "Buzz" Miller.

2003 Gathright Award Recipients

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE AND LIFE SCIENCES

Bret Evers New Orleans, LA

Magdalena Gotsch Friendswood

Karen Schrank Hamilton

COLLEGE OF ARCHITECTURE

Daniel Byrom Atascosa
Jennifer Graham Sugarland
Ashley Ortmann Adkins

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS

Brooke Bludau Halletsville Melanie Fox Baton Rouge, LA Marshall Trenckmann College Station

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION

Ashley Matt Alexandria, LA
Elizabeth Verry Longview
Lea Wilson Abilene

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING

Brandon Johns Houston
Stefani Kokel Spring
Adam Wyatt New Braunfels

COLLEGE OF GEOSCIENCES

Abigail Lawrence The Woodlands Karen Mobley Portland Laura Spanel-Weber Granger

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS

LaToya Allen Houston
Erin Fleming Plano
Apryl Whitaker The Woodlands

COLLEGE OF SCIENCE

Leigh Cobbs Waco
Chad Hopson Canyon
Jennifer Novak Seymour

COLLEGE OF VETERINARY MEDICINE

Travis Cotton Wharton
Mandy Lockhart Red Oak
Jamie Misher Plano

2003 Buck Weirus Spirit Award Recipients

FRESHMAN

Cinnamon MaryBeth Hodges Abilene
Venton Carlos Jones Jr. Dallas
Stacy Colleen Reeves Irving
David Wayne Thompson Jr. Austin
Crystal Nicole Y'Barbo Nacogdoches

SOPHOMORE

Sour Lake Amy Elizabeth Binks Anna Cates Hollier The Woodlands McAllen Alfred Jason Huebinger San Antonio Lucy Huereca Eric M. Parekh Odessa Lauren Francis Rossman Tyler Courtney Ann Wall Atlanta San Antonio Rorey Marie Walsh Matthew Gardner Wilkins Houston Frederick M. Woods Houston

JUNIORS

Houston Katherine Elizabeth Bailey Hammond, LA Robin Elizabeth Cappel Justin Jay Clark Odessa Richard Craig Cronin Katy Andrew Russell Herreth Missouri City Katherine Jean Lemmon Dallas Joseph Arthur Medina Carrollton Lyndon Earl Pryor Houston Rodney William Reed Crosby Iason William Sherrieb Arlington Cortney Elizabeth Smith Beaumont Shawna D'Ann Smith Houston Jonathan Alan Stever Houston Jeremy Britton Whitbeck Fort Worth Joe J. Williams Houston

SENIORS

Bryan Christopher Barton Argyle Eric McGregor Bethea Austin **Justin Paul Bond** Burleson John Erik Casares Alvin Jason Scott Chaka Katy Kelly Leigh Coke Cookville Elizabeth Faires Dacus Dallas Iames William Daniel Wichita Falls Drew McKenzie Darsey Corsicana Sera Shannon Davis Houston Valley Mills Brittany Rene' Denton Christopher Michael Duke San Antonio Pearland Rachelle Evette Gentry Scott Lockwood Goble Waco Dallas Alexander Preston King Odessa Brooks Frederick Landgraf Alfred Spence Pennington Raymondville Marion Jean Phoummarath Houston Rex Lee Williams Ir. Nederland Whitley Casey Wolman Katy

GRADUATE STUDENTS

Yakut Gazi Turkey Prakash Krishnan India